Author Interview with Jeanne Bannon

 

I’m pleased to bring you a new author interview with Jeanne Bannon. Her book Nowhere to Run is an exciting romantic thriller that will keep you on the edge of your seat!

 
NowhereToRun_ByJeanneBannon-133x200


Tell me a little about the characters and the conflict in Nowhere to Run.

 

The story takes place in a small town in Maine where the protagonist, Lily Valier is a suspect in the murder of her only sister, Sara. Sara inherited the family fortune and Lily got nothing. She’s the logical suspect but the evidence the sheriff’s department has on her is only circumstantial.

 

Enter Aiden O’Rouke, a private investigator hired by the sheriff to get the goods on Lily. His job is to charm her, seduce her, get her to confess any way he can.

 

But when things heat up between the two, Aiden is torn. Did Lily kill her sister? And if so, would he have the heart to turn her in? To complicate matters, when the murder weapon finally turns up, it’s Lily’s gun.

 

 

Were your characters difficult to write, or did they seem to spring easily from your mind to the page?

The characters were easy to write. Of course they are both gorgeous. I had a visual of them right off the bat. Aiden, the alpha male is my idea of what a man should be. Black-haired and blue-eyed, he’s a tough guy with a heart.

 

Lily is beautiful but not vain. She’s almost unaware of her looks and their effect on men. She’s also invested in her community and will stay at any cost.

 

 

How often does your muse distract you from day to day minutiae?

My muse is usually AWOL. I have to trudge on without her most of the time. But when she does make an appearance, I get upset when anything or anyone takes me away from my writing.

 

I wish my muse wasn’t as fickle as she is, but I find that once I put my butt in my chair and get to writing, she usually sneaks up behind me and before I know it, she’s looking over my shoulder and begins to whisper in my ear.

 

 

If you had to write your memoir in five words, what would you write?

 

My kids are my life.

 

What do readers have to look forward to in the future from Jeanne Bannon?

I’m finishing up a paranormal romance called Dark Angel about a female exorcist who also happens to be a vigilante. She’s sent on a mission to Costa Rica where she’s supposed to assassinate a well known faith healer. Much to her surprise, he’s expecting her and worse still, he already has plans for her.

 

What is your writing process like?

I write when I can. I work as an editor during the day and write in the evenings and on weekends. I get very cranky when I have to lose a day on the weekend to some other commitment because those are the days when I’m most productive.

 

Are there specific challenges that writers face as opposed to other artists?

I think as any type of artist, it’s hard to make a decent living. There’s piracy on the Internet that writers are faced with. I know there are TV shows and music and movies on the Internet, too, but most of the actors/singers are paid well and unfortunately, authors don’t make much money unless they happen to be Stephen King or Nora Roberts.

 

 

Writer’s block—real or hype?

Not real for me. If I sit down and begin to write, the words usually come. Mind you, some days the writing is just awful but I use that as a template and build upon it the next day. My advice is just get the words down. They don’t to be good, that’s what rewrite/editing is for.

 

 

Who are some of the writers that have most influenced you?

The writers I love are not those who write in my genre. My favs are Sarah Waters, Amy Tan, Anne Rice, Stephen King, J.K. Rowling, John Irving. But out of the list, Stephen King has had the most influence on my writing. I began reading him as a teenager and he made me want to be a writer. Stylistically, I think I am influenced most by who I’m reading at the moment.

 

 

Do you prefer to extensively plot your stories, or do you write them as they come to you?

I always plan. They take on a life of their own anyway but I can’t stand to stare at blank page not knowing here to start.

 

 

Writers often discuss the things they love about writing, but what is it about writing that you most detest?

I usually just enjoy having written, not necessarily the writing process itself. It’s work and let’s face it, writing is hard work. I don’t mind edits when I’m in the final drafts because I know I’ll be done soon.

* * *

Thanks for stopping by, Jeanne! Readers can discover more about Jeanne Bannon here:

Twitter: @JeanneBannon

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Jeanne-Bannon/182120961844916

 

Check out Nowhere to Run! An exciting new Romantic Suspense!

NowhereToRun_ByJeanneBannon-200x300Nowhere to Run
Jeanne Bannon
Romantic Suspense
Length: Novel
Page Count: 298
Price: $5.99
ISBN: 978-1-941692-23-3
Release Date: 10/3/2014

What’s a girl to do when she falls in love with the man whose mission it is to bring her down?

With the murder of her only sister, Sara, just a few months past, Lily Valier—a woman of beauty and substance—tops the sheriff’s list of suspects in small town Maine, and for a very good reason. Dear old Dad had willed his fortune to Sara and only Sara, leaving Lily to fend for herself. However, with no murder weapon or witnesses, the evidence against Lily is only circumstantial.

Enter P.I. Aiden O’Rourke, black-haired and blue-eyed, charged with gaining Lily’s trust and learning her secrets, all to finally get the goods on her. Things move fast and feelings run deep, yet when Lily discovers the truth about Aiden, everything begins to come apart.

Aiden’s torn. Despite his feelings for her, Lily is the most logical suspect, with a great big fat motive. Except something’s not quite right. Aiden trusts his instincts and they’re screaming at him to have a look at a former suspect with far more to hide than first appeared. With little left to lose, Lily decides to stand her ground, and staying put has its consequences when the murder weapon finally turns up—and it’s Lily’s gun.

What happens to love, when trust is betrayed?

Buy Nowhere to Run here
Etopia Press Bookstore
Amazon
Barnes and Noble
Kobo
All Romance Ebooks

About etopiapress

Etopia Press is an electronic publishing house dedicated to readers and authors. We're looking for the best, most unique, most well-crafted stories out there -- and we know they're out there. By taking advantage of emerging electronic markets and media, as well as existing online and print opportunities, we can provide readers with a wider variety of books and ideas, and give authors an opportunity to get the best editing and cover art in the business. The only requirement: the book has to be good. Good plots, interesting characters, engaging conflicts, well-crafted prose. Write a good book, and people will want to read it.
This entry was posted in Author Interviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Author Interview with Jeanne Bannon

  1. elizabethellencarter says:

    Thank you for sharing your writing process with us Jeanne – such interesting titles! I can’t wait to add them to my Kindle.

Comments are closed.