Meet Author Em Petrova…

…as we talk about her hot new F/F Romance Market Place now out from Etopia Press!

Welcome, Em. Let’s jump right in, shall we? Tell me a little about the characters and the conflict in Market Place…

Em Petrova: A lonely woman named Lea spends a lot of time at the window of her Market Place apartment, staring at a stunning woman in the opposite building, who she longs to make hers. They’ve only met in her fantasies.

Where’s the story set? How much influence did the setting have on the atmosphere/characters/development of the story?

Em Petrova: In Market Place, the setting was everything. The idea of mutual gazing ratcheted up the desire between the characters. When they finally unite, Market Place is a five-alarm blaze!

If you had to write your memoir in five words, what would you write?

Em Petrova: A love more than love.

Do you listen to music when you write? Does music ever influence your writing?

Em Petrova: In my bio, it says I’m a worshipper of the iPod, and this is completely true. It’s on every minute of the day, one ear bud jammed into my ear and tuned low so I can still hear my kids scream. Or if they’re screaming too loudly, I can crank it.

What songs or types of music did you listen to while writing this story?

Em Petrova: I’m a huge Tori Amos fan, so some of her American Doll Posse album helped me get into the characters’ heads. Also, I listened to Hole’s Reasons to Be Beautiful. When writing all girl smut, I stick with all girl music artists!

Writers often discuss the things they love about writing, but what is it about writing that you most detest?

Em Petrova: Hmmm, this is a toughie. Most writers hate the editing stage, but I actually look forward to the opportunity to refine my work with the assistance of a knowledgeable editor. I don’t hate a single thing about this job, I’d have to say eeking out that first line is killer. I don’t know how many times I typically revise it, but the opening has to be the perfect mix of information and hook.

Do you have a preference for poetry or prose?

Em Petrova: I have a soft spot for Edgar Allen Poe, especially the line “we loved with a love that was more than love” from “Annabel Lee.” My little family has battled the loss of our oldest daughter to a heart defect, and my personal struggle with a leaking aortic valve, and this phrase is our motto. I plan to have it tattooed on my wrist and hand this summer.

Do you try to capture the rhythm of poetry in your prose?

Em Petrova: I have an instinctive need to create lyrical-sounding sentences. I love to use assimilation (similar sounds used in a sentence) and epistrophe (when a word, clause or phrase is repeated one or more times). If a sentence sounds clunky to me, I read it aloud and usually I can catch hold of the right wording.

Thanks, Em! Here’s the cover and blurb for Market Place.

Great sex… great shoes… what more could a girl want?

Lonely Lea’s only relationship is with the toys from her naughty armoire, but the image of her beautiful, erotic neighbor across the street at 2600 Market Place keeps her hoping for more. From her window, Lea watches Ms. 2600 pleasure herself, and her fantasies have always been enough. But when Lea is introduced to the new assistant at her office, she comes face to face with her most secret sexual fantasies—Ms. 2600 herself. And Ms. 2600 has been watching Lea too…

Click to Buy Market Place here!

Find out more about Em Petrova at her website:

http://www.empetrova.com

About etopiapress

Etopia Press is an electronic publishing house dedicated to readers and authors. We're looking for the best, most unique, most well-crafted stories out there -- and we know they're out there. By taking advantage of emerging electronic markets and media, as well as existing online and print opportunities, we can provide readers with a wider variety of books and ideas, and give authors an opportunity to get the best editing and cover art in the business. The only requirement: the book has to be good. Good plots, interesting characters, engaging conflicts, well-crafted prose. Write a good book, and people will want to read it.
This entry was posted in Author Interviews, New Releases and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.