Meet Author Mina Carter…

Please welcome author Mina Carter. Mina has a great Sci-Fi Romance with Etopia titled Prince’s Courtesan. Here’s her wonderful cover:

Annie: Prince’s Courtesan is a great Sci-Fi Romance. Is SF Romance one of your favorite genres? When did you start reading it? What are your favorite things about it?

Mina Carter: I’m very much a book omnivore, but yes, Sci-Fi is one of my favorite genres. I started reading it early, with books from the school library. I like the potential of Sci-Fi…what wondrous things can the author imagine? What sort of cultures, places and people will there be? It’s a trip into another world, for the price of a book. Amazing and one of the greatest creative gifts.

Annie: Tell us a little bit about the heroine and hero in Prince’s Courtesan?

Mina Carter: J Where to start? Jiada started life as a pampered noblewoman, but after she was exiled and became a wanted woman…boy did she grow up fast! She’s a fast-talking, very capable woman with a multitude of life skills she would never have gained had she stayed with her former life. Basically when the proverbial hit the fan, Jiada dealt with it and kept on dealing until she ran out of options.

All this is a bit of a shock for Seth. He’s expecting an intelligent woman unafraid to speak her mind, but he still sees her like the rest of her class; a woman with a multitude of servants ready to do her bidding, and unable to do something as simple as dress herself. The fact that Jaida can not only look after herself but she could probably outshoot, outfly and definitely out talk most of his commando’s makes him reassess what he wants from her and life in general.

Annie: What are some of your favorite characteristics of a good alpha hero? Do you have one from a book or movie you particularly like?

Mina Carter: Hmm, I’m a bit of an odd one for movies. I love story of any shape or size so sometimes I wouldn’t go for your traditional hero. Often the flawed hero is faaaaaaar more interesting. One of my favorites has to be Hawk from Simon R Green’s Hawk and Fisher series. LOL, now I shall devolve because I can no longer resist temptation and name Dean Winchester from Supernatural.

Characteristics, now that’s a good question. I think a good hero needs to basically be a good person. Or someone who has the potential to be a good person. I don’t like physical violence from my hero’s or nastiness which is intended to cause hurt. Swearing is acceptable as long as it’s not demeaning or degrading.

Annie: What about heroines? Any examples?

Mina Carter: A heroine has to be strong. Not in a bitchy way, but the one thing I can’t abide is Too Stupid To Live girls. If I want to strangle them two chapters in, then I’m not going to be finishing the book. Other than that, I guess the same rules as for the hero apply.

Annie: Star Wars or Star Trek? Or some other outside contender, like Firefly? No pressure to get this one right…

Mina Carter: LOL! I’m a trekkie through and through I’m afraid. Although I’ve watched Star Wars it didn’t grab my attention quite like Trek does and I’ve played Trek RPG’s for the last eight years. Firefly I enjoyed, mainly for Nathan Fillion I must admit, and was very disappointed when it finished.

Annie: You also create excellent cover artwork. So do you have a favorite—writing or art? Which is more of a challenge?

Mina Carter: Both are different sorts of challenges. Writing is my passion, and I was writing a long time before I discovered that photoshop hid my atrocious drawing skills enough for me to fool people I actually know what I’m doing with art 😉 Artwork I love doing, but I don’t actually do art outside of cover work or concept images for a story. It’s all about visual representation of what I’m writing, either as a jump-pad to get me into the mood for writing, or as a cover for others.

Annie: Is it true you know how to make chain mail and corsets? And have you ever considered making a chain mail corset? How did you get involved in learning these skills?

Mina Carter: I do make both J and yes, I have considered a chain mail corset. I’ve even worked out the shape of the mail panels and how to attach it to the corset. I just need to get time to actually make it now.

As for learning how. I’m insanely curious and every couple of years I get a burning desire to go learn something new. Usually I end up doing something completely new and bizarre, which means my resume looks very, very odd indeed.

This year’s skill is keeping tropical fish. We have sharks but no cat.

Annie: I had a good laugh reading one of your recent blog posts titled: The ongoing list of Universal Truths for authors

1 – Synopsis are the devil. Write them as you go alone otherwise they become a creature of nightmare designed purely to torment you.

2 – The closer your deadline, the more likely you are to develop a hither-to unknown fetish for the word ‘obviously’ or some other heinous crime against literature.

3 – Computers hate you. They delight in eating manuscripts. Remember this. Back up regularly.

4 – As soon as you sit down to write, your entire company of family and friends WILL decide this is the perfect time to visit.

5 – Chapter nine is not a good place to rename your hero.

Have all of these actually happened to you at some point in your writing career? Any new ones pop up in your recent rounds of writing and edits? 😀

Mina Carter: Ohhhh yes. All of them. Number four happens with alarming regularity. To the point I have drawn all my curtains and pretended not to be in (And I really hope none of them are reading this because I AM going to be in trouble now). Number three has happened, but I’m far more likely to save my manuscript in some bizarre location either on my external HD or dropbox and COMPLETELY FORGET WHERE I PUT IT.

This is not good.

Annie: How often does your muse distract you from day to day minutiae?

Mina Carter: Often, which is not good with the day job. I tend to carry a small notepad in my pocket to jot stuff down before the plot bunnies get out of control.

Annie: Any advice to writers just starting out?

Mina Carter: Write, revise, submit. Rinse and repeat as often as necessary. Do this enough and eventually someone *will* crack, if only to stop you spamming their submissions inbox 😉

Annie: So what’s next for Mina Carter?

Mina Carter: I’m running away to join the circus. LOL, well I would if I was in shape. Unfortunately, round is quite the wrong shape for the circus so I will be writing more. Currently I have a couple of erotic short stories in progress, and I’ve just completed a post apocalyptic paranormal romance which was a lot of fun.

***

Thanks for joining us today, Mina. Here’s the blurb for Prince’s Courtesan.

He wanted the one woman he couldn’t have…
Outlawed noblewoman Jaida Lianl had been everything from a high speed courier on Arcalis Prime to a waitress in the cloud café’s on Selenis. Different careers, different names, different identities. When a cover got this easy–so easy she started to believe it herself–she knew she’d been in the same place too long. It was time to move on before she got comfortable and started to make mistakes. Mistakes would allow Imperial Prince Sethan to find her, and if that happened, people would die…

Now after five years, Seth has found her, and she can no longer outrun her destiny: she’ll be the prince’s courtesan, but he’ll never own her heart…

Buy Link: http://www.etopia-press.net/shopping/pgm-more_information.php?id=18&=SID

About etopiapress

Etopia Press is an electronic publishing house dedicated to readers and authors. We're looking for the best, most unique, most well-crafted stories out there -- and we know they're out there. By taking advantage of emerging electronic markets and media, as well as existing online and print opportunities, we can provide readers with a wider variety of books and ideas, and give authors an opportunity to get the best editing and cover art in the business. The only requirement: the book has to be good. Good plots, interesting characters, engaging conflicts, well-crafted prose. Write a good book, and people will want to read it.
This entry was posted in Etopia Press, New Releases and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Meet Author Mina Carter…

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Meet Author Mina Carter… | -- Topsy.com

  2. Pingback: Interview on Etopia Press

Comments are closed.